Posts made by Wagner
posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

You still need to cast whatever you draw in your opponent's turn most likely, so that would put a heavy restraint on deck building so you don't just exile all your permanents during your opponent's turn.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@griselbrother They are trying out new things, as they often do.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@thewhitedragon69 OH, good catch, forgot that you can't run PA.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@serracollector

It is, but as noted, having one in your "opening hand" 100% of the time is a big difference.

Also, while Power Artifact is cheaper and blue, this guy is not prone to 2 for 1 removal on your artifact. If your Monolith gets nuked in response, you don't have to find 2 more pieces to assemble the combo again.

Also now you can run 8 Monolith and 8 reducers if you want, making the combo very easy to assemble without tutors.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

alt text

So this is a very reliable way to have infinite mana with Grim Monolith.

The casting cost is as bit annoying, but it shouldn't be that bad to get out consistently.

The deckbuilding restriction isn't too bad as you can still have mostly instants and sorceries. It does however prevent you from playing Young Pyro and Mentor, but you can play all the Planeswalker you want.

As a side note, I know they needed to give it some kind of activated ability, but the no block thing is just so out of place on there.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@pilsburydohboy42 Winds of change makes each player shuffle their hand in the library, so it wouldn't work. Burning Inquiry would work. You'd draw 3, discard 3 at random, and draw 3 more.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@thewhitedragon69 If they PO for 8, I don't think having 8 creatures will save you 😛

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@peterflugzeug

I'm sure they are very aware of it. They just printed a LITERAL JUMPING SHARK!

alt text

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

alt text

Is it me or that is a very agressive sideboard card for Vintage? Against a lot of decks, it would create easily 9 power at instant speed. One green also means it's very splashable in artifact mirror matchups.

Instant speed means you can just play a more control game and slam this EOT or whenever you find an opening.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

It seems very limiting. Compare this to Twincast, which sees zero play.
Is the 3/2 body so important that you're willing to:

  1. Change your deckbuilding (for only 1 card, you can't run a set)
  2. Pay an extra mana
  3. Not be able to target the opponent's spell.
posted in Vintage Strategy read more

Agreed, needed to be much more aggressive if it's that narrow.
Either 2 mana OR hitting all activated abilities of your opponent.

Black version could have discard a card
Red version could have deal 2-3 damage
Green version could have put a 1/1 in play

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@protoaddict Imagine this with Thought Scour, it fuels itself and you get to draw and dig for Phoenix for very cheap.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

If you're casting this before going off, you're going to cast 6-7 more spells, so lose 6-7 life. If you fizzle, you're most likely just dead as you don't get a second chance. You'd need to run more bounce spells than usual to mitigate that.

For that much life and mana, I think I'd rather cast Infernal Contract, it's better in multiples and you know the cost when you play it.

Also, the artwork makes me think of Michael Jackson.

posted in Vintage Strategy read more

@blindtherapy Derp, still getting used to the London Mulligan it seems. Still, question remains for any top of the deck effect, could be Sensei's Top or a few other things.

posted in Vintage Strategy read more

It could matter if you Scry to the top starting the game and the opponent Thought Scours you and want to know which card you wanted to keep. Same with any top-deck tutor.

posted in Vintage Strategy read more

I'm curious on exactly how Though Scour/Dredge works regarding showing the cards you put from your library in your graveyard. I'd like to know if you have to reveal the order those cards were on top of your library before putting them in your graveyard in the order of your choice.

Thought Scour: Target player puts the top two cards of their library into their graveyard.
Dredge (If you would draw a card, instead you may put exactly five cards from the top of your library into your graveyard.

Rule 404.3 states "If an effect or rule puts two or more cards into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards may arrange them in any order."

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

The art is just super creepy to me.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

To be noted that it doesn't have any downsides if your hand is empty, but you'd need a very specific build to make that work consistently, and it would rarely be a turn 1 discard. Between Duress, Thoughseize and Inquisition, I really don't see why this would make the cut.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@serracollector With this and Jace's Phantasm, we can make agro-mill!