Joined
Last Online
Recent Posts
posted in Vintage Strategy read more

Wasteland can be played to gain tempo by slowing your opponent to let your favourable board position lasts longer such as getting more attacks from your threats or activating your planeswalkers more times before it is answered. It can also be used to lock out opponents from casting any spells.

The second approach won't work that often especially without backup from additional mana denial. It's a riskier play since the play has a high fail rate. It's only good when opponent has no sufficient mana in hand or on top of his deck to cast his spells in hand. Sometimes it's a gamble worth taking since mana screw is your most likely path to victory.

I wouldn't give too much worth to Workshop playing Ancient Tomb first. They will almost always sandbag their Workshop if they can afford it. It's to protect it from turn 1 Wasteland.

posted in Vintage Community read more

@letseeker You should read your policy or ask your broker if you've questions about coverage. The definitions can vary between insurers or even for the same insurer in different states/countries.

posted in Vintage Community read more

@ajfirecracker I don't think the rules needed to know to play in a tournament are clear. There's 4 rules documents containing more than 300 pages together and there's also thousands of errata on another database.

posted in Vintage Community read more

I think we can all agree that the Champion made some sloppy plays, I know that I've also done some in the past. Sometimes I wonder after a game if I really made a dumb play. It can be hard to remember if you've played a land or not when a turn goes long and Wasteland is involved. Maybe Joseph made other infractions that should have received warnings but if players don't call a judge when they notice an infraction or judges don't issue warnings when they notice one, then accumulated sloppy play won't be punished. So the next time your opponent plays 2 lands, don't pay for a sphere or pays the wrong colour of mana, call a judge and ask him why he doesn't give a warning if you think it's warranted. Even if unintentional, playing or drawing extra cards definitely give an advantage over tournament.

Judges have a PR issue, a lot of people see calling a judge as scummy, mean, etc. It might be because they have the same name as the officer of court giving jail sentences. Maybe players would be less intimidated by referees or rules assistants.

It is my experience that the player's meeting is hugely inefficient and ineffective. Rooms tend to be really and it's difficult, or impossible, to understand what is being especially for non-native English speakers or those not speaking English at all.

I've been more concerned about the missed triggers, especially those concerning Chalice of the Void. It was already known that the missed trigger policy was lacking for triggers affecting objects on the stack. I understand that all the changes that happened in the past were confusing and that some players still don't know how it works. I routinely see players reminding players of beneficial triggers in smaller events. I was really surprised when a player resolved two spells in a row into its own trigger that the players weren't split apart to try to determine if it was done intentionally.

The camera brings players and staff into much more scrutiny than usual. It would be into everyone best interest to have a judge assigned to a camera match just like sports have referees during televised match. It's a bit unfair for players on camera if they get more warnings than other players especially since players can decline to be on camera. It should also be known that judges can't use video replays during a match, except for Pro events, only for investigations later on.

posted in Official Tournament Results read more

@celticgriffon You had to be there to see it. There was no broadcasting or coverage in any form.

And I don't think there was any Vintage played.

posted in Vintage Community read more

@gkraigher said:

Restrict:
Oath of Druids (for the same reasons as lodestone golem)
Zodiac dragon (after changing the errata back to the original wording of the card)

Zodiac Dragon
7RR
Creature - Dragon
If Zodiac Dragon is put into your graveyard, you may return Zodiac Dragon to your hand.
8/8

The original wording is awkward, it is worded half as a replacement effect and half as a triggered ability. The "if" means replacement effect while the "is" means the card is already in the graveyard when it's effect happens so it's a triggered ability. The current text clearly indicates it's a triggered ability. It seems to be the exact intent of the card. The battlefield part is only to clarifies that it only works from the battlefield but the effect would be the same if it wasn't there; abilities only work on the battlefield unless otherwise mentioned.

posted in Single-Card Discussion read more

@Water0 said:

Honestly, cards that care about having ~40 life (or more) should not be allowed in commander. It's way too easy to win with them.

I cannot see this seeing any vintage play no matter how cute it might be.

If you pay 50 life to kill someone, you'll be an easy prey to the other players.

posted in Vintage Community read more

@Smmenen Both of your cards do the same thing, excluding the untapped requirement, since they're both replacement effects written differently.

614.1d Continuous effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield . . .” or “[Objects] enter the battlefield . . .” are replacement effects.

posted in Vintage Community read more

@ChubbyRain Rule 614.12 doesn't apply because Containment Priest doesn't affect how a permanent enters the battlefield. It replaces entering the battlefield with something else. This rule applies to effects like those:

614.1c Effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield with . . . ,” “As [this permanent] enters the battlefield . . . ,” or “[This permanent] enters the battlefield as . . . ” are replacement effects.
614.1d Continuous effects that read “[This permanent] enters the battlefield . . .” or “[Objects] enter the battlefield . . .” are replacement effects.

Important rules are:

101.2 When a rule or effect allows or directs something to happen, and another effect states that it can’t happen, the “can’t” effect takes precedence.

101.3 Any part of an instruction that’s impossible to perform is ignored. (In many cases the card will specify consequences for this; if it doesn’t, there’s no effect.)

614.7 If a replacement effect would replace an event, but that event never happens, the replacement effect simply doesn’t do anything.

It's the same interaction as Dredge and Spirit of the Labyrinth.

posted in TheManaDrain Metadiscussion read more

@BazaarOfBaghdad It assumes perfect collusion between the players. It will sometimes go:

6 1-0, 6 0-1
3 2-0, 6 1-1
1 3-0, 5 2-1 Assuming 0-2 drops and one player gets a bye.
1 4-0, 2 3-1 or 0 4-0, 4 3-1

For $10 in prizes per person. It could be even less if there is players not scooping at X-2. If we assume the downpaired 2-0 wins half the time, the expected prizes are only $11.25 per person. Only with an 80% win percentage or a 60% collusion rate would you break even.