Navigation

    The Mana Drain

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Strategy
    • Community
    • Tournaments
    • Recent

    smash to smithereens and planeswalkers

    Rules QnA
    3
    3
    4738
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • L
      letseeker last edited by

      so the scenario was i had a voltaic key and jace, the mind sculptor, my opponent casts smash target key and claims the three damage could be redirected to jace, can he do that as the card says three damage to the artifacts controller?

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • Solemn_Storm
        Solemn_Storm last edited by

        Short answer: Yes.
        Long answer:
        "306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied."

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • ?
          A Former User last edited by A Former User

          yea those wierd redirect rules. this works with any spell that says the word "damage" and owner/controler

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • First post
            Last post