smash to smithereens and planeswalkers
so the scenario was i had a voltaic key and jace, the mind sculptor, my opponent casts smash target key and claims the three damage could be redirected to jace, can he do that as the card says three damage to the artifacts controller?
Solemn_Storm last edited by
Short answer: Yes.
"306.7. If noncombat damage would be dealt to a player by a source controlled by an opponent, that opponent may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker the first player controls instead. This is a redirection effect (see rule 614.9) and is subject to the normal rules for ordering replacement effects (see rule 616). The opponent chooses whether to redirect the damage as the redirection effect is applied."
yea those wierd redirect rules. this works with any spell that says the word "damage" and owner/controler