Confidant Control

• Hello, I would like to share a deck I have been working on since around 2013. The idea of the deck is to use dark confidant as a card advantage engine much like jace, the mind sculptor, which is pretty good in vintage. The downside to dark confidant is that he is soft to lightning bolt effects, and he causes you to take damage. The first is not hugely relevant as removal effects are not big in vintage and mental misstep can deal with some of it, the second is solved by the use of sensei's divining top/sylvan library and jtms to put land or one drops on the top to take little damage, and to try to tone down the cmc of the deck as much as possible.

For the colors it can go a few ways, you have to play blue, and black for bob, but for the third color they are all viable, green for sylvan library, white for swords to plowshares and mentor. I ultimately chose red as it's the best against shops imo, and pyroblast is good against blue. You can also go four colors but it makes you really weak to wasteland.

Card advantage:
    4x dark confidant
    2x jace, the mind sculptor
    2x snapcaster

Wincon:
    1x young pyromancer
    1x goblin rabblemaster

Restricted cards:
    1x ancestral recall
    1x time walk
    1x brainstorm
    1x ponder
    1x gush
    1x merchant scroll
    1x gitaxian probe

Counterspells:
    4x force of will
    2x pyroblast
    1x mana drain
    4x mental misstep
    1x flusterstorm

Removal:
    1x fiery confluence
    1x by force
    1x abrade
    1x lightning bolt

Misc:
    2x dack fayden
    2x sensei's diving top

Mana:
    1x black lotus
    1x mox emerald
    1x mox sapphire
    1x mox jet
    1x mox pearl
    1x mox ruby
    1x Flooded Strand
    1x Island
    1x Library of Alexandria
    1x Misty Rainforest
    1x Polluted Delta
    4x Scalding Tarn
    1x Strip Mine
    3x Underground Sea
    4x Volcanic Island