Navigation

    The Mana Drain

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Strategy
    • Community
    • Tournaments
    • Recent

    [C18]Treasure Nabber

    Single-Card Discussion
    10
    13
    5765
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • T
      Tittliewinks22 last edited by

      Treasure Nabber

      This looks promising. Could provide the ramp goblins need to chain recruiters or set up a food chain?

      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • MaximumCDawg
        MaximumCDawg last edited by

        Color me skeptical. This is a Punisher card. Your opponent will choose whatever is best for them. If you're locked down under a Sphere, they'll rely on Sol Lands instead.

        If it cost 1 mana, then they probably would not have a choice; they kept a hand with a mox or crypt and need to use it, probably. So, if it cost 1, it would situationally be as good as Llanowar Elves. That's not high praise.

        There's a second use case, along side Welder or something else to sac the artifacts, but that's an awful lot of work and mana to do what Mox Monkey already does.

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • ?
          A Former User last edited by

          This post is deleted!
          ? 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
          • ?
            A Former User @Guest last edited by A Former User

            @hierarchnoble

            This card is either very good vs paradoxical outcome, or it is terrible depending on rules interactions.

            If a player announced paradoxical outcome, pays for the cost of it with 4 Mox mana, how many moxen can they target with Outcome before the triggered ability from this card resolves.

            I’d assume since the spell was announced, that all the triggered abilities would go on the stack simultaneously, and they could cast outcome targeting the 4 moxes before the triggered ability resolves.

            But I am not sure.

            BlindTherapy 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • BlindTherapy
              BlindTherapy @Guest last edited by

              @gkraigher if you just announce outcome and tap your moxen to pay for it, the triggers resolve first, stealing the moxen, and they don't bounce and you don't draw.
              the proper way to do it, from the outcome side, is to activate the mana abilities(and anything else, like top, that must precede outcome) and then cast outcome in response to the Nabber triggers. all bounce, all draw, none borrowed.

              A grave is the safest place to store ill-gotten treasures.

              NYSE 3 winner, vintage champs 2015 top 4, vintage champs mox emerald 2021 top 4.

              Unban Shahrazad.

              ? 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • ?
                A Former User @BlindTherapy last edited by

                @blindtherapy

                So this card does nothing against Outcome. Shame.

                N thecravenone 2 Replies Last reply Reply Quote 2
                • N
                  Necrogeist @Guest last edited by Necrogeist

                  @gkraigher Unless the P.O. is countered. Potentially high risk for the P.O. player if this found any purchase in a blue shell.

                  T 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • T
                    Tittliewinks22 @Necrogeist last edited by

                    @necrogeist doesn't need a blue shell since it's red and pyroblast hits outcome!

                    N 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                    • N
                      Necrogeist @Tittliewinks22 last edited by

                      @tittliewinks22 Very good point, I like that much better!

                      1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                      • Brass Man
                        Brass Man last edited by

                        It's not really that big a risk for the outcome player. If you play outcome and your opponent counters it with this card in play, they get your artifact mana for one turn, and then you get it back next turn and try again. That's exactly what you were going to do if they had a counter and you DIDNT have a Treasure Nabber - it doesn't even really slow the outcome player down

                        It's only scary if your opponent has something to do with that extra mana, in which case a [[Mana Drain]] seems far more useful for them.

                        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                        • S
                          Serracollector last edited by

                          Or if they have an Atog. Yummy moxen.

                          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
                          • nedleeds
                            nedleeds last edited by

                            alt text

                            Keep rollin! Rollin! Rollin!

                            @TeamTuskMTG on Twitter
                            Sometimes caster on Tusk Talk

                            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 1
                            • thecravenone
                              thecravenone @Guest last edited by

                              @gkraigher said in [C18]Treasure Nabber:

                              @blindtherapy

                              So this card does nothing against Outcome. Shame.

                              It also grabs any moxen used to cast non-Paradoxical spells. Even if that's just the Pearl that cast a Sol Ring, that's pretty okay.

                              Quote from: Stormanimagus on March 16, 2016, 06:39:41 pm
                              >Instead of tearing things down we should calmly explain our opinions.

                              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                              • First post
                                Last post