Navigation

    The Mana Drain

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Strategy
    • Community
    • Tournaments
    • Recent

    Damping Sphere and Workshop mana

    Rules QnA
    4
    7
    4747
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • D
      Dr. J last edited by

      Does Workshop mana produced under Damping Sphere still have the "artifacts only" restriction?

      Aaron Patten 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • Aaron Patten
        Aaron Patten @Dr. J last edited by Aaron Patten

        @dr-j Yes

        The amount of mana is changed but all riders on it remain the same.

        This is also the case with other cards which have a similar effect such as [[Contamination]].

        Incidentally, [[Untaidake, the Cloud keeper]] can only be used to cast legendary spells even while there is a damping
        sphere in play.

        Alternatively, if you control an [[Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth]] or a [[Chromatic Lantern]] then both [[Mishra's Workshop]] and [[Untaidake, the Cloud Keeper]] may be used to cast non-artifact and non-legendary spells. This is because cards like [[Urborg, Tomb of Yawgmoth]] et al. grant the land an additional ability which does not have the same inherent rider associated with it.

        Another interesting corner case is when a player has a [[Mana Flare]] or [[Wild Growth]] type of effect. Since the land that is tapped for mana is not the source of the additional mana it will not be affected by [[Damping Sphere]]; however, in the case of a card like [[Mana Reflection]], which directly modifies the amount of mana a land produces, damping sphere will cause all of those lands to produce ◇ insteaad of any other type and amount.

        Something worth noting is that if there are two replacement effects modifying the same mana ability it is up to the controller of that mana ability to decide what order the replacement affects are applied. In some cases this allows the controller of the mana ability to chose which replacement affect applies last and thus control the resultant outcome of the two replacement effects; however, there are also many occasions where that choice is not relevant to the outcome and the result will be the same no matter what order they are applied in. For example, if a player controls a [[Mishra's Workshop]] and there is a [[Damping Sphere]] and a [[Contamination]] on the battlefield then the controller of the [[Mishra's Workshop]] can chose the order in which to apply each replacement effect. If they chose to order [[Damping Sphere]]'s effect first followed by [[Contamination]]'s then [[Mishra's Workshop]] will be modified to add ◇ instead of 3 and then [[Contamination]]'s effect will apply causing it to add 💀 instead of ◇. If they chose to order [[Contamination]]'s effect first followed by [[Damping Sphere]]'s then [[Mishra's Workshop]] will be modified to add 💀 instead of 3 after which [[Damping Sphere]]'s effect will no longer apply since it isn't adding more than one mana anymore.

        https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqvKjsIxT_8

        Pour me a brew as bitter as my blackened heart.

        D 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 3
        • Topical_Island
          Topical_Island last edited by

          I'm not sure why you'd ever cast a sorceress, but can you walk me through the reason Boseiju can only cast them and instants when Damping is in play? I don't see why Damping would have any effect on Boseiju at all, since Boseiju doesn't tap for more than one mana. ?

          Brian Kelly Freudian self-analysis of the day:
          I like to express the id that a player would feel without the superego of being like, "oh you have to be nice."

          Aaron Patten 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • D
            Dr. J @Aaron Patten last edited by

            @aaron-patten Thanks!

            1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • Aaron Patten
              Aaron Patten @Topical_Island last edited by Aaron Patten

              @topical_island Good Point. That was a poor example. There aren't that many other situation where there might be riders
              on a land but, you're right, Boseiju doesn't get hit by sphere because it doesn't produce multiple mana. I've edited the original post.
              Thanks for pointing it out.

              https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqvKjsIxT_8

              Pour me a brew as bitter as my blackened heart.

              Topical_Island 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
              • ?
                A Former User last edited by

                Just another thing: Boseiju can normally cast any spell, but they won't be uncounterable if they aren't instants or sorceries.

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • Topical_Island
                  Topical_Island @Aaron Patten last edited by

                  @aaron-patten np. About 7/10 it's my mistake anyway. I was honestly asking, because for the life of me I couldn't figure out what I was missing there. Thanks for answering the original question though. I've been wondering the same thing, especially in relation to Damping and Energy Flux getting run against Shops at the same time.

                  Brian Kelly Freudian self-analysis of the day:
                  I like to express the id that a player would feel without the superego of being like, "oh you have to be nice."

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • First post
                    Last post