Damping Sphere

• Don't hit I'm a noob in Vintage : isn't this card a great boon for Oath decks ? They seem to not really try too hard to play more than one spell per turn.

• @bazaarofbaghdad I do not think it would replace null rod, it would be an add on. This card helps your combo match and your workshop match up.

If you are on Blue Stew or LandStill you already have a pyroblast/flusterstorm main deck for PO. This main deck gives you one more thing for them to stop before go off.

You play Defense Grid and they play this you need one more spell before you can get going.

If you are Mentor then you cannot pump him big enough fast enough, and they can catch up.

• Really interesting card design, but I doubt it'll see any play outside of Colorless Eldrazi. Shops obviously doesn't want or need it. I don't think White Eldrazi does either (seems worse than Glowrider, Wingmare, Null Rod, etc).

• @chubbyrain We can also destroy Hrishi's hopes and dreams in every way imaginable, so that's a strong upside to this card.

• Well there goes my Foundry Inspector + Sensei's Divining Top + Sensei's Divining Top + Aetherflux Reservoir Workshop Combo deck. Thanks, WotC.

• I just realized that Mana Flare makes all lands colorless with this card. That is just funny - LOL

• @moorebrother1

No it doesn’t. Mana flare is a triggered ability and mana flare adds the mana, not the land.

Mana flare used to read “it” which was undefined. The card’s oracle has been updated.

Mana reflection is a more complicated interaction. I believe you would get to choose chose which replacement ability and would end up with 2 mana still. I’m not sure on this.

• @gkraigher I think you can't apply the Sphere replacement effect unless you've applied the Mana Reflection's one, and then you have to apply the Sphere's nerf.

• This card, in theory, should stop all the whining about our favorite repeatable lotus land and its call for restriction. . . But it won’t. Mark my words. facepalm.