last edited by MaximumCDawg
@ten-ten said in [RIX] Blood Sun:
@vaughnbros what I'm saying is that with the errata on vale and ruins, the sac happens before it would even enter the battlefield. It doesn't make sense for sun to affect these before the sac is made. ETB effects are different. Because...wait for it...its entering the battlefield. Vale and ruins errata acts more of an additional cost to even play the lands, not an ETB effect. It's lazy, like I stated before, to just say under new rules this is also taken care of when in reality it does not.
You're correct in that the current point of the errata on Vale / Ruins / (the poor Alliance lands that got hit in the crossfire) was to make it a replacement effect rather than a triggered ability. However...
To determine whether Lotus Vale's replacement effect applies as it enters the battlefield, Blood Sun is taken into account (C.R. 614.12). Because of this, since Lotus Vale would enter the battlefield without its first ability due to Blood Sun, it would not have its first ability.
In other words, your instinct is not wrong, but your conclusion is wrong as of the recent changes to C.R. 614.12. In full text:
614.12. Some replacement effects modify how a permanent enters the battlefield. (See rules 614.1c–d.) Such effects may come from the permanent itself if they affect only that permanent (as opposed to a general subset of permanents that includes it). They may also come from other sources. To determine which replacement effects apply and how they apply, check the characteristics of the permanent as it would exist on the battlefield, taking into account replacement effects that have already modified how it enters the battlefield (see rule 616.1), continuous effects from the permanent’s own static abilities that would apply to it once it’s on the battlefield, and continuous effects that already exist and would apply to the permanent.
EDIT: Someone put together this handy dandy cheat sheet to what Blood Sun does: