Navigation

    The Mana Drain

    • Register
    • Login
    • Search
    • Strategy
    • Community
    • Tournaments
    • Recent

    Brain in a Jar and last known information

    Rules QnA
    5
    7
    9267
    Loading More Posts
    • Oldest to Newest
    • Newest to Oldest
    • Most Votes
    Reply
    • Reply as topic
    Log in to reply
    This topic has been deleted. Only users with topic management privileges can see it.
    • cutlex
      cutlex TMD Supporter last edited by

      If I control a Brain in a Jar with zero counters on it and activate its first ability, then while maintaining priority sacrifice it to Arcbound Ravager, am I able to cast a Hypergenesis (zero CMC sorcery) on resolution?

      http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=410017
      http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=370510
      http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.aspx?multiverseid=113533

      Aaron Patten 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
      • AmbivalentDuck
        AmbivalentDuck last edited by

        On the gatherer page you linked:

        If Brain in a Jar leaves the battlefield before its first ability resolves, use the number of counters on it at the moment it left to determine what spell you may cast. That number won’t change because you can’t put a new counter on Brain in a Jar.

        1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
        • cutlex
          cutlex TMD Supporter last edited by

          I found that ruling but was left unclear on its implications for 0 CMC spells without casting costs.

          1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
          • mrkkrvknv
            mrkkrvknv TMD Supporter last edited by mrkkrvknv

            I dont think it work, because 0 CMC is not the same as "no CMC". When you cast a Mox (for example), you "pay 0", but the casting cost is still there. With suspend cards, there is no casting cost meaning you can't cast it.

            Suspend ability say you pay N and exile the card. Then, at the beginning of your upkeep, suspend triggers letting you remove a suspend counter from the card, and when you remove the last counter, the suspend ability triggers again and say you may play the cards from the exile zone. But you still don't cast it, you "just play it".

            IT IS STILL 3 MINUTES TO MIDNIGHT

            Solemn_Storm 1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
            • Solemn_Storm
              Solemn_Storm @mrkkrvknv last edited by Solemn_Storm

              @kravkenov This is incorrect. The CMC of any card without a mana cost is 0 - the most obvious example being lands. A nonexistent casting cost cannot be paid, but you can cast such a spell using an effect that lets you skip paying costs. The most common examples are casting Ancestral Vision or Living End off of a Cascade trigger.

              1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 4
              • mrkkrvknv
                mrkkrvknv TMD Supporter last edited by

                Hmmm have to investigate how this works then 😉

                IT IS STILL 3 MINUTES TO MIDNIGHT

                1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                • Aaron Patten
                  Aaron Patten @cutlex last edited by

                  @cutlex Yes, it works.

                  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jqvKjsIxT_8

                  Pour me a brew as bitter as my blackened heart.

                  1 Reply Last reply Reply Quote 0
                  • First post
                    Last post