TheManaDrain.com
August 28, 2014, 06:20:44 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News:

Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3
  Print  
Author Topic: Pwn Your Opponent with Tentacles!--The ANT Primer  (Read 13496 times)
Gandalf_The_White_1
Basic User

View Profile
« on: January 23, 2010, 03:15:39 PM »

Pwn Your Opponent with Tentacles!--The ANT Primer

So, I've been testing ANT for the past 6+ months and think that it is a strong deck right now.  It has been a while since there has been a thread, so I decided to post my list with explanations and matchup analysis.

The list:

32 Spells:

3 Tendrils of Agony

9 Bombs:
4 Ad Nauseam
1 Yawgmoth's Will
1 Necropotence
1 Tinker
1 Memory Jar
1 Timetwister

7 Disruption:
4 Duress
3 Thoughtseize

7 Set-up:
3 Dark Confidant
1 Ancestral Recall
1 Brainstorm
1 Ponder
1 Time Walk

4 Tutors:
1 Demonic Tutor
1 Vampiric Tutor
1 Mystical Tutor
1 Demonic Consultation

2 Bounce:
1 Chain of Vapor
1 Hurky's Recall

28 Mana:

12 Lands:
4 Polluted Delta
2 Bloodstained Mire
3 Underground Sea
2 Swamp
1 Island

16 Accel:
4 Dark Ritual
3 Chrome Mox
2 Cabal Ritual
1 Black Lotus
1 Mox Jet
1 Mox Sapphire
1 Lotus Petal
1 Sol Ring
1 Mana Crypt
1 Mana Vault

Sideboard:
4 Yixlid Jailor
4 Phyrexian Negator
3 Slaughter Pact
2 Hurkyl's Recall
1 Island
1 Swamp

First of all, why play ANT?  ANT is good because it is a combo deck that combines a fast kill with disruption and resiliency, resulting in a decent game against most decks in the current meta.  More specifically, I am concerned with the following decks (in about this order): Tezz/Drains, Oath, Dredge, Stax, Fish, Beats, TPS.  Combo generally slaughters random decks.